Week in Review: August 13-19

“Life moves pretty fast.  If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.”

This week went by fast.  From the long days of studying and feeling the anxiety of my exam weigh down on me to trying to find balance with friends and family.  But I think I’d still choose this crazy lifestyle over a routine day-to-day.

This week I spent a lot of time with family, a lot of time live texting the Olympics, and a lot of time with my books.

Over the weekend, I finally I got back into working out.  I forgot how fun it could be, it just takes a few hours to work up the motivation to get up to actually do it.

IMG_8666

The workout was subsequently followed by a giant bowl of wonton noodles I enjoyed with my family while out and about.

IMG_8668edit

During my week at home studying, I tested out a new studying technique called “spaced repetition”.  Essentially, it divides up the things you need to work on into categories: to review every day, every 3 days, every week, right before the exam.  So far, I’ve been enjoying it.

Every exam season, I test out new techniques to keep things interesting and to see if there’s a better way of doing what I’ve been doing for so much of my life.  If you’ve never tried a new study technique before, I highly recommend giving it a go.  I learned that I respond well to mind maps (learned during 1st year exams) and that I don’t respond so well to flash cards (4th year exams).

IMG_8654edit

Overall, it’s been a good week, but there’s definitely room for improvement.  I can’t wait to see what next week brings.

What are your highlights from the week?

Leave a Reply

