Who has time for relationships?

He said: if Barack Obama has time for a relationship, so do you.

The other night, a good friend and I sat at a Tim Horton’s until 3am and chatted about life. (Why do all the best conversations always happen at insane hours?)  The topic of relationships came up and he asked “so are you seeing anyone?”  and the conversation went a little like this.

“No, I don’t really have time for a relationship.”

“I’m calling you out on your bullshit right now.”

“What do you mean?”

“Anyone can have time.  If Barack Obama has time for a relationship, so do you.  But you choose not to spend time on it.”

He was right.  Not to say there’s anything wrong with how I prioritize my life, but it’s the fact that in the past, I really didn’t take ownership over my choices.  I used “I’m too busy” as an excuse when really, there was a more legitimate reason why I chose to prioritize one thing over another.

I said, “I don’t have time” as an easy escape to keep my walls up and justify the fact that I simply didn’t want to go on a date.  Especially when I didn’t have any other legitimate reason for turning someone down, time–or the lack thereof–was my scapegoat.

After my conversation with my friend, I realized that I needed to stop making excuses for myself and start being more brave with the choices I make.  I want to take more ownership of my time and own up to my decisions.  We all get the same 24 hours and I want to feel in control of them.

2 thoughts on “Who has time for relationships?

  1. You are not alone! Many people feel the same way when it comes to relationships, even myself. You’d laugh at the amount of excuses I’ve used to not get into one. The unknown can be scary and we come up with all these stories and scenarios as to why we SHOULDN’T get into a relationship. But as humans, the only way to grow and become stronger is to face our fears head on. Whether the end result is acceptance or rejection, it’s okay. Because at the end of the day, we built the courage to take that giant leap and personally, that’s a huge accomplishment within itself.

    Like

    1. I agree, there a bunch of reasons to not get into a relationship. But that’s the magic of a relationship, taking the leap of faith and seeing what happens. As they say, we’ve got to face our fears! Thanks for your comment! (:

      Like

Leave a Reply

