It’s never too late to be brand new.

I sometimes have to consciously remind myself that I am not a tree.

What I mean by that is: I am not bound to the ground where I stand.  I can move.  I can change.

Back in 2014, I wrote a piece about choosing to change and be the person I wanted to be, no matter what the day was.  I didn’t have to wait for new years, or the start of a new week or month.  I reminded myself that I could change, at any moment, I can make that decision.

This whole thing stemmed from a live show I attended where Grace Helbig said: if there’s something you want to do, start now!  Then in a year, you would have been doing it for one full year!

It’s funny because the logic is so simple and obvious.  But it’s true.  I think a common excuse is to defer our grand changes to the new year, birthday, some other day that we think is more significant than today.  I’m often guilty of this.  But that logic is flawed because what makes any other day more significant than today?

I wrote about this concept two years ago after doing poorly on my midterms in university.  It frustrated me that I was so far from who I wanted to be.  It frustrated me that I accepted it as a part of myself instead of trying to change.  Though acceptance of who I am is great, it shouldn’t be an excuse to never change and to never do better.  Today, reading what I wrote reminds me to change once again.  Although I am in a happy place in my life, I do want to take my career to the next level.  I want to do more.  I want to be more.  I need to keep moving, keep changing, and choose today to do so.

Thanks Past-Tina for the friendly reminder!

Leave a Reply

