Ready, Set, Reflect: New year resolutions and goal setting

Happy 2017!

This year, I decided to really focus on the goals that I was setting for myself.  I feel like I’ve been ready for some major change in my life for a while now.  I’ve been looking to improve the quality of my relationships, take ownership for my actions, and take my career to the next level.  I’ve always been a dreamer, a goal maker, and lately, it felt like I’ve had all these ideas and no solid plan to make these ideas into a reality.

Though I was well intentioned with my dreams, I’ve found myself making excuses for putting off the things I’ve wanted to do.  I do admit that 2016 was a hard and busy year for me — dealing with 80-hour work weeks, studying for (and passing!) the CFE exam, dealing with my first heart break, and learning how to navigate life as an independent 20-something who really doesn’t know much about life, love, or how to cook.  But saying “I don’t have time” or “I’m tired” or “I’m too scared” is not really valid excuses.  I’ve come to realize that the biggest thing holding me back from realizing my goals, was me.  If something is important enough to you, if you are passionate about something, somehow you will find the time.  Somehow you will find the energy.  Somehow you will find the courage to face your fears and take the leap.  This year, I’m deciding that my goals and aspirations are important to me.

I guess the start of a new year is a good sentimental moment to decide to change.  Our society raises us to believe that a new year means a fresh start.  The ability to clean the slate an begin again.  Though it’s not true at all, it’s just enough motivation to get me rolling in the right direction.  (It also helps that I’ve gotten a week off from work and was able to really spend the week before the new year setting myself up for a successful year…I should really take vacation days more often).

To set my goals this year, I thought about 9 different aspects of my life and what I wanted to accomplish within each category.  I thought long and hard about what type of person I wanted to be.  What I didn’t like about the past year that I wanted to change.  What I wanted to continue.  I thought about what I wanted to say about my life in 12 months.  I made my goals and sat with them for a few days to decide if they were really what I wanted.  If they were feasible.  If they were specific enough to complete.

If it’s been a while since you last took some time to reflect on the decisions you’ve been making or the type of person you are becoming, I highly recommend setting aside about 30 minutes each day for a week to evaluate what you’re doing.  It’s so easy to get caught up in your day to day without thinking about your long term plans.  Sure, I was fine doing what I was doing, but in 10 years, I don’t want to feel like I’ve missed opportunities.

Goal Categories:

  1. Physical Health & Fitness
  2. Career & Professional Goals
  3. Blog & Passion Projects
  4. Relationships
  5. Peace & Mental Health
  6. Social
  7. Financial
  8. Energy & Motivation
  9. Personal Growth

I decided to write my goals into the first page of my agenda book so that I’ll always have it with me, I’ll always be reminded of it, and can refer back to it when I’m setting up my monthly goals and daily to-do lists.  It’s one thing to set the goals, it’s another thing to commit to them.

resolutions

I hope the start of a new calendar year inspires you to get up and pursue what it really is you want in life.  I hope the next twelve months are the best twelve months to date.  I hope that you are inspired to continue to grow and become the best version of yourself possible.

Thanks for reading and coming on this journey with me.  Let’s see what 2017 has in store.

Cheers!

T

 

Leave a Reply

