20 Facts About My Body

But first, you have to love yourself.

Which is often easier said than done.  I can only name a handful of times in my life where I’ve ever felt truly happy and satisfied with my body and the way I look.  It’s been an ongoing journey of accepting myself and learning to stop comparing myself to others.

I recently watched a video by Catrific on Youtube and it got me thinking about the things I say about myself and how some of these things are just facts.  Facts that I should just accept and move on with.  Facts that shouldn’t be associated with “good” or “bad”.

I’ve noticed that a lot of how I feel about my body has nothing to do with what my body looks like and more about my lifestyle.  I feel insecure about how I look when I face rejection from a romantic love interest, when I’m stressed or feeling inadequate at work, when I’m not eating well, and when I don’t exercise.  But when I’m doing things that I love, when I’m active and eating well, being kind to others, when I’m putting 110% into my work, when I participate in my hobbies, when I get enough sleep — these little facts about my body aren’t so important to me.

One of my 2017 goals was to focus on fostering healthy relationships, starting with the relationship I have with myself.  I still have a lot of work to do in learning to love myself, but focusing on who I am as a person rather than what I look like has definitely been helpful.

So here are 20 facts about my body.  Some of these things I’m okay with.  Some of these things I’m quite insecure about.  Some of these things I am proud of.  Some of these things I’m working on improving.  As I wrote this list, I tried to leave my own judgement out of the words.  Because without judgement, these are just things that exists.  They are not my enemy.  They are not the only things that define who I am.  They are just facts.

  1. I have black hair (which has progressively gotten lighter from years of heat styling, hair dye, and stress).
  2. I always have bags under my eyes, no matter how much sleep I get.
  3. I’m 5’2″.
  4. My legs are my strongest muscle group.
  5. My elbows are darker than the rest of my arm.
  6. My cardio strength is next to none.
  7. My nails are almost always short (easier to play guitar that way).
  8. I have a squeaky knee (even my personal trainer noticed).
  9. My hair is naturally wavy and frizzy.
  10. My feet fit shoes anywhere between a size 4 to size 6 (I blame inconsistent manufacturing).
  11. I get hyper-pigmentation on my face after zits go away.
  12. I have dark brown eyes.
  13. I’m relatively petite but have some pudge when I’m sitting.
  14. I have moderately thick eyebrows and can get away with not filling them in when I don’t feel like it.
  15. I have a relatively pale face.
  16. I have bad posture.
  17. I’m allergic to most lip products so you’ll never see me wearing lipstick.
  18. I have a pretty flat bottom.
  19. My face is not symmetrical.
  20. I’m practically blind without my glasses/contacts.

20factsbody

I hope this post inspires you to re-evaluate the relationship you hold with your body and to be more kind to yourself.  Making this list was surprisingly calming to me.  Suddenly, all these thoughts in my head were let free and I could start to let myself move on.  I realized these facts are not the same facts for supermodels and comparing myself to them doesn’t really make sense.  Apples and oranges, as they say.  I realized that the things I thought were so overwhelmingly wrong with me are just one-line of facts and not an ocean.  This list wasn’t a quick fix for my insecurities, but I’m glad I took the time to reflect.

With love,

T

Leave a Reply

